On InstagramOn YouTubeOn TwitterOn Facebook


Senior Amateur Golfer of the Year Award (2016)


Omaha – The Nebraska Golf Association is proud to announce the selection of Fremont’s John Sajevic as the 2016 Nebraska Senior Amateur Golfer of the Year for a record fourth time.

Sajevic has now won the honor four of the five years it has been awarded, winning in 2012, 2013 and 2015 as well. He was also the Nebraska Amateur Golfer of the Year twice, in 1989 and 1996. It was an-other successful year at all levels of competition for Sajevic, as he won his second Nebraska Senior Am-ateur title at Oakland Golf Club, becoming the third player to win the championship twice. He also won the Fremont Invitational at Fremont Golf Club, his home club, for the 12th time. He’s now won the tour-nament in his 30s, 40s, 50s, and 60s.

The 60-year-old made the cut at the 108th Nebraska Amateur Championship at Omaha Country Club, and finished tied for 17th. It was his 17th straight year making the 36-hole cut, and he has never finished outside the top 25 in 31 championships. Sajevic qualified for match play and lost in the Round of 32 at the 49th Nebraska Match Play Championship at Firethorn Golf Club in Lincoln, and did the same in the Round of 16 at the 6th Nebraska Senior Match Play Championship at ArborLinks in Nebraska City.

Sajevic was the first alternate at Sectional Qualifying for the 2016 U.S. Senior Amateur Championship at The Players Club in Omaha, and the second alternate at Sectional Qualifying for the 2016 U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship at Shadow Ridge Country Club in Omaha. He also finished in the top 5 at the Columbus Classic at Elks Country Club and the Dinsdale Classic at Riverside Golf Club in Grand Island, as well as tied for ninth at the Indian Creek Invitational at Indian Creek Golf Course in Elkhorn.

Sajevic will be honored at the Nebraska Golf Association's 50-Year Anniversary Gala featuring Ben Crenshaw and presented by Sunice and Bobby Jones. The Gala will take place Friday, November 18, at the CenturyLink Convention Center in Omaha. In addition, the NGA will recognize its Junior Amateur Golfer of the Year, Girls’ Amateur Golfer of the Year and Amateur Golfer of the Year.


Year Award Recipient Hometown
2016 John Sajevic Fremont
2015 John Sajevic Fremont
2014 David Clouse Friend
2014 Mike Krumland Columbus
2013 John Sajevic Fremont
2012 John Sajevic Fremont