On InstagramOn YouTubeOn TwitterOn Facebook


Junior Amateur Golfer of the Year Award (2017)


Omaha - The Nebraska Golf Association is proud to announce the selection of Norfolk's Luke Kluver as the 2017 Nebraska Junior Amateur Golfer of the Year.

Despite not playing in either of the NGA's junior championships, Kluver easily won the race for the award with the help of a USGA trifecta. He advanced out of three USGA qualifiers in Nebraska to play in two USGA championships, as well as U.S. Open Sectionals. In May, he was the only amateur to earn a qualifying spot, joining professionals Scott Gutschewski of Elkhorn and Brandon Crick of McCook in advancing out of Local Qualifying and into Sectionals for the 2017 U.S. Open. Kluver's 69 (-3) at The Country Club of Lincoln trailed only Gutschewski on the day.

Then came the U.S. Junior Amateur Sectional Qualifier at Elks Country Club in Columbus in June. Kluver posted a round of 68 (-4) to take the lone qualifying spot and advance to the U.S. Junior. Kluver then caught fire during the first 18 holes of the 36-hole U.S. Amateur Sectional Qualifier at ArborLinks in July, posting a 66 (-6) to take the lead. He held on down a wild home stretch on day when temperatures soared into triple digits, eventually taking the lone qualifying spot with a 140 (-4) total. He became the first Nebraskan to advance out of all three qualifiers.

In addition to his USGA success, Kluver put together another impressive performance at the 50th Nebraska Match Play Championship at Shadow Ridge Country Club in Omaha in June, finishing third in Stroke Playing Qualifying amongst a field of 145 amateur golfers. Kluver won his first match, but would fall in the Round of 16. He just missed out on repeating at the NSAA Class A individual champion, but finished runner-up. He won the Nebraska Junior PGA Championship by four strokes.

Towards the end of the season, Kluver put together rounds of 64 (-7), 70 (-1) and 67 (-4) at the Nebraska Open at Elks Country Club in Columbus in September. He was one of just three amateurs to make the cut, winning low amateur by 12 strokes. Kluver finished tied for 4th overall against a talented field of professionals, and was just four strokes back of the winner.

Kluver will be honored at the Nebraska Golf Association's annual awards banquet on Friday, November 17 at The Country Club of Lincoln. In addition, the NGA will recognize its Amateur Golfer of the Year, Girls’ Amateur Golfer of the Year and Senior Amateur Golfer of the Year. The Nebraska Women's Amateur Golf Association's Player of the Year will also be honored.

Read the full story on Kluver in the upcoming Winter Issue of the Nebraska Golfer eMagazine.


Year Award Recipient Hometown
2017 Luke Kluver Norfolk
2016 Alex Schaake Omaha
2015 Alex Schaake Omaha
2014 Alex Schaake Omaha
2013 Carson Schaake Omaha
2012 Rylee Reinertson Gibbon
2011 Rylee Reinertson Gibbon
2011 Drew Taylor Omaha
2010 John Spellerberg Fremont
2009 Andy Sajevic Fremont
2008 Josh Reinertson Gibbon
2007 Andy Sajevic Fremont
2006 Bobby Knowles Omaha
2005 John Hurley O'Neill
2004 Joe Kubick Lincoln
2003 Chris Bruening Norfolk
2002 Brady Bauer Lincoln
2002 Judd Cornell Omaha
2001 Nathan Lashley Scottsbluff
2000 Nathan Lashley Scottsbluff
1999 A.J. Elgert Lincoln
1999 J.J. Sullivan Omaha
1998 Seth Porter Hastings
1997 Seth Porter Hastings
1996 Ryan Vermeer Omaha
1995 Steve Friesen Lincoln
1994 David Hersch Lincoln
1994 Ryan Vermeer Omaha
1993 Ryan Nietfeldt Grand Island
1992 Kit Grove Lincoln
1991 Geoff Friesen Lincoln
1990 Troy Petracek Crete
1989 Brian Bock Lincoln
1988 Jason Peterson Oakland
1987 Scott Hoffman Omaha
1986 Jason Peterson Oakland
1985 Hap Pocras Lincoln
1984 Hap Pocras Lincoln
1983 Mike Peterson Oakland
1982 Mike Peterson Oakland