On InstagramOn YouTubeOn TwitterOn Facebook


Amateur Golfer of the Year Award (2016)


Omaha - Led by his excellent play in the Nebraska Golf Association’s majors, Gibbon’s Rylee Reinertson has been named the 2016 Nebraska Amateur Golfer of the Year.

Reinertson, a junior on the Oklahoma University golf team, is just the fourth player to win the award in back-to-back years, joining St. Paul’s Dan Bahensky (1971-1972), Lincoln’s Steve Statton (1979-1980), and Elkhorn’s Ryan Nietfeldt (2002-2003). Reinertson also won back-to-back Junior Golfer of the Year awards in 2011 and 2012. He joins Fremont’s Andy Sajevic as the only players to win both awards twice, and is the only to do both in back-to-back years.

Reinertson’s summer was highlighted by his first Nebraska Match Play title, making it his second straight NGA championship after winning the Nebraska Amateur in 2015. He’s the first to follow an Amateur win with a Match Play win the following year since Brandon Crick in 2008. Reinertson cruised through the bracket as the No. 6 seed after finishing tied for second in the 36-hole Stroke Play Qualifier. He never needed the 17th or 18th holes in any of his first five matches, and won seven of the first 13 holes in the 36-hole final, eventually taking down the defending champion, Michael Colgate of Lincoln, 6 and 5 to win the 49th Nebraska Match Play Championship at Firethorn Golf Club in Lincoln.

Reinertson then came roaring back in the final round of the 108th Nebraska Amateur Championship at Omaha Country Club in an attempt to defend his title. He started the final round six strokes back of eventual champion Alex Schaake of Omaha, and after an eagle on the par-5 16th and a birdie on the 17th, he was tied for the lead. A bogey on the 72nd hole allowed Schaake to win by two strokes with a closing birdie, but Reinertson finished runner-up for the second time in three years. His 69.33 scoring average during the final round over that three year stretch is nearly seven strokes better than the field average.

Reinertson also competed well against a very strong national field at the Rice Planter’s Amateur at Rivertowne Country Club in Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina. He fired a final round 69 (-3) to finish in a tie for 13th. In May, Reinertson advanced out of U.S. Open Local Qualifying for a third straight year. His 3-under 69 at ArborLinks in Nebraska City earned him one of four qualifying spots, and he was the only amateur to do so. He did not advance through Sectional Qualifying.

He beat out a 3-time winner, Nietfeldt, and a 2-time winner, Sajevic, to win the 2016 NGA Point Standings race by more than 300 points.

Reinertson will be honored at the Nebraska Golf Association's 50-Year Anniversary Gala featuring Ben Crenshaw and presented by Sunice and Bobby Jones. The Gala will take place Friday, November 18, at the CenturyLink Convention Center in Omaha. In addition, the NGA will recognize its Junior Amateur Golfer of the Year, Girls’ Amateur Golfer of the Year and Senior Amateur Golfer of the Year.


Year Award Recipient Hometown
2016 Rylee Reinertson Gibbon
2015 Rylee Reinertson Gibbon
2014 Carson Schaake Omaha
2013 Andy Sajevic Fremont
2012 Ryan Nietfeldt Omaha
2011 Kevin Stanek Bellevue
2010 Andy Sajevic Fremont
2009 Brandon Crick McCook
2008 Jayson Brueggemann Lincoln
2007 John Hurley O'Neill
2006 Patrick Duffy Omaha
2006 Brady Schnell Lincoln
2005 John Hurley O'Neill
2004 Judd Cornell Omaha
2004 A.J. Elgert Lincoln
2003 Ryan Nietfeldt Omaha
2002 Ryan Nietfeldt Omaha
2001 Knox Jones Lincoln
2000 Bill Spangler Lincoln
1999 David Clouse Friend
1998 Steve Friesen Lincoln
1997 David Clouse Friend
1996 John Sajevic Fremont
1995 David Clouse Friend
1994 Knox Jones Lincoln
1993 Larry Sock Lincoln
1992 David Clouse Friend
1991 Mike Rack Lincoln
1990 Larry Sock Lincoln
1989 John Sajevic Fremont
1988 Larry Sock Lincoln
1987 Bill Spangler Lincoln
1986 David Walker Omaha
1985 Larry Sock Lincoln
1984 Mark Maness Lincoln
1983 Mike Schuchart Lincoln
1982 Mark Maness Lincoln
1981 Dave Maurstad Beatrice
1980 Steve Statton Lincoln
1979 Steve Statton Lincoln
1978 Mike Klein Scottsbluff
1977 Larry Sock Lincoln
1977 Mike Hughett Lincoln
1976 Tom Sieckmann Omaha
1975 Dan Bahensky Lincoln
1974 Tom Sieckmann Omaha
1973 Charlie Borner, Lincoln
1972 Dan Bahensky St. Paul
1971 Dan Bahensky
St. Paul
1970 Frank Rose Fairbury
1969 Jim Shade Norfolk
1968 R. B. Lau Lincoln