On InstagramOn YouTubeOn TwitterOn Facebook


Girls' Amateur Golfer of the Year Award (2016)


Omaha - The Nebraska Golf Association is proud to announce the selection of Hannah Thiele of Wahoo as the 2016 Nebraska Girls' Amateur Golfer of the Year.

Thiele captures her second straight award, sharing the honor with her older sister, Haley, in 2015, despite not winning either of the NGA’s girls’ championships. It was the first time since 2012 that a Thiele did not win both championships. However, Hannah won two NWAGA Championships and compete well on the national stage to still run away with the award.

Thiele won the 2016 NWAGA State Amateur Championship by an impressive nines, and defeated 8-time Champion Susan Marchese of Omaha in the finals of the 2016 NWAGA Match Play Championship. She also finished runner-up, losing in a play-off to Doniphan’s Danielle Lemek, at the NWAGA Stroke Play.

Thiele made it to the semifinals of the Nebraska Girls’ Match Play Championship, losing to eventual champion Megan Whittaker of Elkhorn, 3 and 2. She did not compete as the two-time defending Nebraska Girls’ Amateur Champion, but finished 4th at the Optimist International against a very talented field that week. Thiele finished runner-up at the PGA Junior Series event at ArborLinks in Nebraska City against another strong field. She won the Nebraska Junior PGA Championship and finished tied for 12th at the NSAA Class C Boys Golf Championship. Thiele is in her senior year at Bishop-Neumann High School.

Thiele will be honored at the Nebraska Golf Association's 50-Year Anniversary Gala featuring Ben Crenshaw and presented by Sunice and Bobby Jones. The Gala will take place Friday, November 18, at the CenturyLink Convention Center in Omaha. In addition, the NGA will recognize its Junior Amateur Golfer of the Year, Senior Amateur Golfer of the Year and Amateur Golfer of the Year.


Year Award Recipient Hometown
2016 Hannah Thiele Wahoo
2015 Haley Thiele Wahoo
2015 Hannah Thiele Wahoo
2014 Haley Thiele Wahoo
2013 Haley Thiele Wahoo
2012 Danielle Lemek Doniphan
2011 Danielle Lemek Doniphan
2010 Danielle Lemek Doniphan
2009 Danielle Lemek Doniphan
2008 Armana Christianson Omaha
2007 Anna Christenson Lincoln
2006 J.C. Stevenson Grand Island
2005 J.C. Stevenson Grand Island
2004 Kristen Kosch Bellevue
2003 Kristen Kosch Minden
2003 Leigh Sutton Lincoln
2002 Leigh Sutton Lincoln
2001 Sara Sackett Cambridge
2000 Beth Anne Cherry Lincoln
1999 Elizabeth Morrell McCook
1998 Elizabeth Morrell McCook